Financial Adviser Fees in New Zealand

Fees last checked: 23 October 2026 · Written by the ValueHub team · Reviewed by Steve Baron

A bright advisory office desk with a calculator, reading glasses and a mug

Ring three financial advisers and ask what they charge, and you will get three different answers. One bills by the hour. One quotes a price for the plan. One takes a percentage of your money every year, for as long as they look after it.

None of them is doing anything wrong. New Zealand has no set price for financial advice — no national schedule, no standard package. Every business sets its own price and writes it down in its own way.

That is what makes comparing them so difficult. The numbers are published in disclosure statements and on fees pages, but never in a format you can compare side by side. So we did that part. Someone here has read every business's fee page or disclosure statement, and every figure sits under the same heading as every other business's. The Fee source link under a name goes to the page we read from, so you can check any number yourself.

This page covers every licensed financial advice provider in New Zealand. This isn't a shortlist, and it isn't just the business we happened to hear about.

The Three Tables on This Page

Every business below falls into one of three groups, sorted by what you would actually be charged rather than by how well-known it is.

How We Researched This Article

The list of businesses starts with the Financial Markets Authority's register of licensed financial advice providers. That is where the list comes from—not a directory, not a membership list, and not a shortlist we assembled by hand. We review every business on the register that offers investment or retirement advice the same way.

The register does not publish fees, so every figure here comes from the business itself. For each one, we read its published fee page or its disclosure statement — the document a licensed provider is required to give you that sets out what it charges and who pays it. We take the figure from the business's own wording, aligned with a fixed set of headings, so every row answers the same questions: hourly rate, fixed fee, ongoing percentage, GST, minimum. The date we read it sits in the last column of the row, and the Fee source link under each name opens the page it came from.

Where a business publishes no figure for a basis, the cell reads "Not published." We do not estimate a rate, infer one from a similar business, or fill the gap from a third-party directory. A blank would leave you unable to tell "we found none" from "there is none", so we include the words instead.

The licence cancellations in Table 3 come from the FMA's published notices, with their wording and a link to each notice.

No business pays to appear in any of these tables, and no link on this page earns us a commission. We don't rank businesses within a table, and we don't recommend one over another. Fees change without notice, so a business's own page is always the authority — treat this as a starting point for a conversation, not a quote.

How businesses charge

A fixed fee is a set price for a defined piece of work, usually a financial plan. You agree to it before the work starts, and it doesn't change if the job takes longer than expected. It is the easiest of the three to compare between businesses.

An hourly rate is a time-and-materials arrangement. You pay for the hours the work takes, so the total is hard to predict in advance. Ask for an estimate of hours in writing, and ask what happens if it runs over.

A percentage of your money is charged on the balance the business manages or advises on, and it is charged again every year. That is what makes it different in kind rather than degree: a one-off fee is a cost, while a percentage is an ongoing arrangement that continues as long as the money stays.

A fourth arrangement is one where you don't pay a fee at all. Some businesses are paid by the product provider through commission, or through a trial on the products they recommend. That must be disclosed, and it changes who the business is working for.

Why a Business Charging a Percentage Sits in Table 1

The split is not whether a business charges a percentage. It is whether you can buy its ordinary advice without one. A business that publishes a fixed-plan fee and also runs a managed portfolio belongs in Table 1 because you can take the plan and decline the portfolio. A business whose standard basis is a percentage of the amount invested cannot be bought in any other way, so it is listed in Table 2.

Where a business in Table 1 offers a percentage as an option, the Ongoing % column indicates this and notes when the rate itself is not published. If a business publishes no figure for a basis, the cell reads Not published. That is a finding, not a gap we filled in with an estimate.

Before You Choose a Business

  • Ask whether the fee is one-off or ongoing. The same advice applies either way, and only one of those keeps costing you.
  • Ask who pays the business. A fee you pay and a commission a product provider pays are both legal, and they are not the same arrangement.
  • "Not published" is not the same as "free". It usually means the business quotes on a case-by-case basis or the provider pays instead.
  • A financial advice provider must hold an FMA licence. You can check any business' licence on the FMA register before you engage it.

Important: Fees change frequently and a business's own disclosure is always the authority. Nothing on this page is financial advice. Our independence position is set out in our editorial standards, and how we source and check figures is in our methodology.

Table 1 — Businesses you can pay a set fee or an hourly rate

Each business here publishes a fixed fee, an hourly rate, or a self-implemented option that covers its ordinary advice. Some also offer a percentage service as a separate option; that is why a percentage can appear in the Ongoing % column of this table, and you can decline it.

Business ↕ Region ↕ Hourly rate ↕ Fixed fee ↕ Ongoing % (optional) ↕ GST ↕ Minimum ↕ Checked ↕
Athena Wealth Fee source Auckland $300 per hour plus GST $600 to $4,500 plus GST Percentage of funds under management, not published (optional) + GST Best suited to $100,000+ 16 Oct 2026
Auckland Financial Fee source Warkworth / Auckland $250 per hour Agreed in advance; first 30 minutes free None Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Become Wealth Fee source Takapuna and Christchurch $250 per hour plus GST $2,173.91 plus GST 1.07% on the first $500,000, reducing to 0.67% above $2m, p.a. plus GST (optional) + GST No minimum investment; $247 per month minimum fee plus GST 23 Oct 2026
Cambridge Partners Fee source Christchurch Not published $1,000 to $5,000 plus GST 1.10% on the first $500,000, reducing to 0.40% (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
David Smart Co. Fee source Devonport Agreed hourly rate, which may be capped Fixed fee, not published Percentage only by separate agreement (optional) Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Diligent Wealth Management Fee source Queenstown $500 (one-off advice) $1,000 to $10,000 Up to 1.25% p.a. (optional) Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Evergreen Advice Fee source Wellington Available for self-managed advice, rate not published $1,500 to $3,000 plus GST Maximum 1% p.a. plus GST (optional) + GST Generally $200,000+ 16 Oct 2026
Fairhaven Wealth Fee source Christchurch Not published $3,000 incl GST None Incl. GST No minimum 16 Oct 2026
Finsol Fee source Hawke's Bay $250 per hour plus GST $250 to $1,000 plus GST 0.30% to 0.50% p.a. (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
FoundHer Fee source Nationwide $299 incl GST $597 to $3,333 incl GST None Incl. GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
G3 Financial Freedom Fee source Tauranga From $350 plus GST From $2,000 plus GST Tiered percentage, not published (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
Nest Egg Investments Fee source Hobsonville $195 per hour $695 to $1,195 None Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Pacific Wealth (NZ) Fee source Christchurch Not published $500 to $1,500 plus GST From 1% p.a., or a fixed fee instead (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
PWA - Private Wealth Advisers Fee source Parnell Time based, rate not published Fixed annual cost, not published 0.50% to 2.00% p.a. (optional) Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Quartz Wealth Fee source Takapuna Available for consultancy, rate not published Fixed annual retainer set by complexity, not published Percentage of funds under management, not published (optional) Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Rede Advisers Fee source Christchurch $230 incl GST From $2,300 incl GST Tiered percentage, not published (optional) Incl. GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
Rutherford Rede Fee source Auckland Hourly, rate not published One-off plan fee, not published Percentage of funds under management, not published (optional) Not stated None stated 16 Oct 2026
Saturn Advice Fee source Nationwide From $350 plus GST Not published From 1.05% p.a. plus GST (optional) + GST $100,000 lump sum or $12,000 p.a. 16 Oct 2026
Simple Money NZ Fee source Tauranga $500 incl GST $4,000 incl GST None Incl. GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
Strategic Wealth Management Fee source Auckland $200 to $450 per hour plus GST From $1,500 plus GST Percentage of funds under management, not published (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
Stuart Carlyon Fee source Parnell $400 plus GST Not published, set out in a letter of engagement Percentage of funds under management, not published (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
Taimana Wealth Fee source Lower Hutt $200 plus GST $1,500 to $3,500 plus GST 1% p.a. plus GST (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
The Retirement Guys Fee source Christchurch Not published $500 to $1,500 plus GST From 1% p.a., or a fixed fee instead (optional) + GST None stated 16 Oct 2026
VIS.finance Fee source Online Hourly for implementation only, rate not published $950 incl GST None Incl. GST Typically from $50,000 16 Oct 2026
Wealth & Co Fee source Kumeu / Greater Auckland $375 per hour plus GST Agreed after a fact-find, not published Percentage of funds under advice, not published (optional) Not stated None; $50,000 for investment only 16 Oct 2026
Your Money Blueprint Fee source Nationwide $290 incl GST ($232 for existing plan clients) $3,700 to $5,000 incl GST None Incl. GST None stated 23 Oct 2026

Checked is the date the figure was read from the business's own published fee page or disclosure statement — not the date the business last changed its fees. A dash in the Ongoing % column means the business publishes no percentage for that service; it is not a zero.

Table 2 — Businesses priced by percentage, paid by commission, or not published

These businesses charge a percentage of the amount invested as their standard basis, are paid by product providers, or do not publish enough to establish the basis. "Not published" means we could not confirm a non-percentage route that covers ordinary advice — it is not an accusation, and several of these rows will move once the business confirms its position.

Business ↕ Region ↕ Fee basis ↕ Percentage / ongoing ↕ Fixed or hourly ↕ Minimum ↕ Checked ↕
Central Financial Planning Fee source Alexandra Not published Not published Not published None stated 16 Oct 2026
Earnslaw Goodlight Fee source Cambridge Percentage only 1% p.a. Not published Typically $150,000+ 16 Oct 2026
FoxPlan Fee source Wellington Commission Provider-deducted, not published Plan fee, not published Fixed or hourly, no rate published None stated 16 Oct 2026
Jordan Financial Planning Fee source Lower Hutt Percentage + commission Up to 3% initial, reducing to 1% over $500,000 $350 to $400 per hour, outside standard advice only None stated 16 Oct 2026
Keystone Wealth Fee source Remuera Not published Ongoing servicing fee, not published Initial fee, not published None stated 16 Oct 2026
Shaw and Partners Fee source New Zealand-wide Percentage only Up to 1.25% p.a. Not published None stated 16 Oct 2026
Tailorednz Fee source Palmerston North Not published Percentage for the DIMS service, not published One-off plan fee, not published Minimum investment applies (not published) 16 Oct 2026
The Private Office Fee source Auckland Not published Not published Not published Not published 16 Oct 2026

Table 3 — FMA licence cancellations

A financial advice provider must hold a licence. These are the cancellations the Financial Markets Authority has published, with the FMA's own reason and a link to its notice. A censure is not a cancellation and is not listed here. This list is not a statement about any other business, and it is not claimed to be complete.

Business Cancelled People named by the FMA Reason (FMA's wording)
Saanvi 2022 Limited Trading as Saaga Mortgages FMA notice 30 Mar 2026 Gajay Singh (sole director) Failed to meet licence obligations - altered supporting loan documents, undisclosed third-party referral payments, privacy concerns
Hope Group Limited (HGL) FMA notice 02 Dec 2025 Mr Wang Cancellation followed termination of its insurer distribution agreement; HGL and Mr Wang deregistered from the FSPR; matter reported to Police
Les Vela Limited Trading as Wise Insurance FMA notice 27 Aug 2025 Le Zhou (also known as Eric) Failed to comply with the code of conduct, in particular act with integrity; sole director not a fit and proper person. Le Zhou barred from the FSPR for five years
Integrity Advisers Insurance Limited FMA notice 04 Sep 2024 Yuriy Bazhak (sole director and shareholder) Serious misconduct in treatment of clients wanting to cancel policies Sep 2022 - Jun 2023, including telling clients non-payment could affect immigration status; altered an invoice before providing it to the FMA
Stockfox Limited FMA notice 30 May 2024 David McEwen (sole director and only adviser) Not a fit and proper person; not capable of effectively performing a financial service; likely to breach licensee obligations. Related permanent stop order issued December 2023
Foundation Advice Limited FMA notice 17 Nov 2023 - Company placed in liquidation by the High Court on an IRD application; deregistered from the FSPR for not belonging to an approved dispute resolution scheme
Wisdom House Investment Partners Limited FMA notice 10 Dec 2021 Yuen Pok (Paul) Loo (sole operator) Sole adviser engaged in serious misconduct at his previous employer (FoxPlan Ltd); not a fit and proper person. First FAP licence cancellation by the FMA

How to Use These Tables

  • Click any column header to sort — click again to reverse.
  • One search box filters all three tables by business or region.
  • Not published means the business publishes no figure for that basis. It is a finding, not a blank.
  • Fee source under each name opens the business's own page, which is the authority for every figure here.

About Financial Advice Fees

  • A business can be paid by you (a set or hourly fee) or by the product provider (a commission), and disclosing which is required.
  • A percentage basis is charged again each year; a set fee is usually a one-off.
  • A financial advice provider must hold a licence from the FMA.
  • No business pays to appear here, and nothing on this page is a recommendation.


Related Tools

Free tools and guides to take your numbers further: